Hard decisions regarding Print Distribution as an Indie Author

So, in order for brick and mortar stores (like Barnes and Noble and Books-a-Million) to be willing to carry my book on their shelves, it has to be returnable (that’s one of a few things, but that’s the main one the B&N manager said). CreateSpace will NOT set a book as non-returnable. Which means I go through Ingram (the best and most legit option). Ingram costs money – for example, you have to buy an ISBN (CreateSpace offers a free one, but it’s ONLY usable through them), plus a title setup fee (which they’ll refund if you buy 50 books within 60 days – I have a couple boxes of my book already grrr), plus apparently like $12 a year (no big deal). Is it worth it? If I can get it on the shelves it’ll only take like 25 copies to break even with their charges. This is really actually a hard thing to decide. I think if I personally call around to the stores I can convince them to carry a few copies at least as a test. I think B&N also wants copies their customers can buy from them if you’re going to be included in panels and book signings. What would you do or have you done?

Posted on November 22, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

